Medallion Mega Flakes

Standard

This card has been made using Mega Flakes…

medallion mega flakes

Joyce loved the previous card Ella Bella Birthday, which I used with the mega flakes and she asked me to provide the directions of how I made the card.

This technique is also known as gilding and it can be used on card, wood, MDF, acetate, glass and metal.

You need to use a special glue and I used FlitterGlu from IndigoBlu. This can be bought in a starter kit with everything you will need – Phat foam to apply the glue to your stamp, stamp cleaner, a tub of mega flakes & a scoochy sponge for polishing.

I inked up my medallion stamp from Stampin’ Up!  with the flitterglu and stamped onto a piece of card. I sprinkled on the mega flakes onto my image and gently rubbed over the image with the palm of my hand. I then polished the image with the scoochy sponge and TA DAH.

Here’s what I used:

Stamps: medallion & perfectly penned

Card/Paper: whisper white, river rock & riding hood red  

Ink: riding hood red

Accessories: rhinestones & mega flakes

Thank you for stopping by

Debs x

2 responses »

  1. The flakes are ultra fine & ultra lightweight, you must not cough or sneeze or they will be everywhere! Don’t use with the air conditioning on either. You must have something similar in the US. Deborah

  2. Thanks Debs for explaining the mega flakes. I looked at the Indigoblu website but it is from England and of course in pounds. I will try to locate a source here in the States. It also looks like what I can foiling which I use to do years ago. Are they really lightweight? Joyce

Leave a Reply

